Neil Atkinson to Chair of Golf
Your Suggestion / Comment
Further to your very clear email yesterday ref the amendment of TLR5 for temporary greens, it has come to my notice that some members are under the impression that in between the the yellow staked areas on normal greens, that it is ok to use a putting stroke.
My interpretation of the rules is that on holes that are not on temporary greens, then TLR5 has only 2 options. Play off a mat or move to the closest side and place in the 1st cut.. There is no option to putt whilst within the yellow staked area.. It would be good to get clarity on this, and I apologise if I am wrong.
As you say, I did provide further guidance on Friday 10th February as to the implementation of TLR5 on a hole with a temporary green and I’m glad you found that helpful and clear.
However, ref holes that do not have a temporary green in play, you are also correct that TLR5 has only 2 options which are 1) Players can play off a mat or 2) they move to the closest side and place in the 1st cut.
Can I also confirm in the TLR5 as posted on my original update to members last October, that there is no option available to putt whilst within the yellow staked area on holes that do not have a temporary green in play. I hope that clarifies that query too.